Friday, January 11, 2013

A Question of Identity by Susan Hill

A Simon Serrailler Crime Novel
by Susan Hill
Hardcover, 368 pages

I first discovered Susan Hill when I saw she had a hearty endorsement from one of my heroes, P.D. James. Like James, Hill crafts an intricate British crime novel that starts at the edges and peels away layer by layer until you get to the climax.

In A Question of Identity, the town of Lafferton is blanketed by snow and the hush keeps the crime rate low. However, someone has been lurking about the new senior housing in Duchess of Cornwall Close. One elderly woman is murdered in her new home in a most terrifying way. DCS Simon Serrailler juggles his personal and professional life as he mounts a hunt for the killer. When more are killed, he finds a link between these murders and murders from the past.

What he can't find is an identity for the killer.

A Question of Identity explores human emotions as much as mystery, and of course what is more mysterious than human emotions?

A great fireside English mystery. Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will love Susan Hill's Simon Serrailer series.

Other books in the series:

The Various Haunts of Men
The Pure in Heart
The Risk of Darkness
The Vows of Silence
The Shadows in the Street    
The Betrayal of Trust 


Susan Hill’s novels and short stories have won the Whitbread, Somerset Maugham and John Llewellyn Rhys Prizes. Her novels include The Mist in the Mirror, the Simon Serallier crime series, and I’m the King of the Castle. She also wrote Mrs. de Winter, the sequel to Rebecca, and her ghost story The Woman in Black was adapted for the stage and has been running in London for over 21 years. She lives in Gloucestershire, where she runs her own small publishing company, Long Barn Books.