Wednesday, 18 September 2013

Never Go Back: A Jack Reacher Novel by Lee Child

Never Go Back
A Jack Reacher Novel
by Lee Child

Hardcover, 416 pages

This is the eighteenth book in Lee Child's Jack Reacher series and the most personal one to date. We get to know a little more about our favourite ex military man when he heads back to his old unit to ask the mysterious woman on the phone for dinner.

But, as they say, you can't go home again. Jack finds himself in a tangled mess as soon as he hits town and he needs all of his wits and even his heart to sort out just what the hell is going on.

Our giant of the roads gets a little sentimental in this book and I love it. He doesn't break character, of course, we just get to see a bit more of his soft and chewy core underneath the hardened shell.

Reacher fans will love this new installment in the series. New fans will love this look into Reacher's life. Some of us might even develop a wee crush on the man. Not saying who....

From the Back Flap:
Former military cop Jack Reacher makes it all the way from snowbound South Dakota to his destination in northeastern Virginia, near Washington, D.C.: the headquarters of his old unit, the 110th MP. The old stone building is the closest thing to a home he ever had.
Reacher is there to meet—in person—the new commanding officer, Major Susan Turner, so far just a warm, intriguing voice on the phone.
But it isn’t Turner behind the CO’s desk. And Reacher is hit with two pieces of shocking news, one with serious criminal consequences, and one too personal to even think about.
When threatened, you can run or fight.
Reacher fights, aiming to find Turner and clear his name, barely a step ahead of the army, and the FBI, and the D.C. Metro police, and four unidentified thugs. 
Combining an intricate puzzle of a plot and an exciting chase for truth and justice, Lee Child puts Reacher through his paces—and makes him question who he is, what he’s done, and the very future of his untethered life on the open road.

Photo credit: Sigrid Estrada

Lee Child

Lee Child is the author of seventeen previous Jack Reacher thrillers, including the New York Times bestsellers Persuader, The Enemy, One Shot, and The Hard Way, and the #1 bestsellers The Affair, Worth Dying For, 61 Hours, Gone Tomorrow, Bad Luck and Trouble, and Nothing to Lose, as well as the short stories “Second Son” and “Deep Down.” His debut, Killing Floor, won both the Anthony and the Barry awards for Best First Mystery, and The Enemy won both the Barry and Nero awards for Best Novel. Foreign rights in the Reacher series have sold in more than forty territories. All titles have been optioned for major motion pictures, the first of which - “Jack Reacher” - was released in December.
 A native of England and a former television director, Child lives in New York City.