Saturday, 11 October 2014

TLC Book Tour: To Dwell in Darkness

To Dwell In Darkness
A Novel
by Deborah Crombie

Hardcover, 384 pages

New York Times Best Selling Author of the Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James Novels

To Dwell in Darkness is the 16th book in the explosively popular Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James series. You get the feeling of flow and change from one book to the next but do not have to have read the previous books to fully enjoy this one. You may, however, find yourself wanting to read all of them after reading one.

Deborah Crombie works just as much on the humanity of her detectives as she does on plot structure and suspense. As in - she is a master of both the inner workings and the story.

I was enjoying this book well until about half way through. Then I could not put it down. She has great pacing which increases in suspense and excitement as the novels go along. These are the kind of books that keep me up reading until the wee hours. And let's face it, that's the best!

See all the books here.


From the Back Flap:

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, detective superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras International Station. By fortunate coincidence, detective sergeant Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds that every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.

The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss continues to avoid him, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.


Deborah Crombie is a New York Times bestselling author and a native Texan who has lived in both England and Scotland. She lives in McKinney, Texas, sharing a house that is more than one hundred years old with her husband, two cats, and two German shepherds.
Visit Deborah Crombie on her website, facebook, goodreads, and twitter.
You can purchase her books Barnes and Noble, Amazon, and IndieBound, as well as other book retailers.