Tuesday, 16 February 2016

The Widow: A Novel by Fiona Barton

The Widow
A Novel
by Fiona Barton

Trade Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: Penguin Canada

I loved this book. I was reading something else at the time. Something more technical, and decided I needed to be engulfed in a story that would grab me and take me out of my head.

This was just the book. Smart. Different. Well plotted and laid out. Addictive.

A mystery played out in pieces, through the main players' emotions, experiences, games, fragilities and memories.

I could not put it down. Don't worry, I napped a lot the next day.

Like Gone Girl, I imagine this will be a film soon. And I will likely watch that too. But you and I know - the book is always better.

From the Back Flap:

A loving husband or a heartless killer...she'd know, wouldn't she?

There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with accusing glares and anonymous harassment. Now her husband is dead, and there's no reason to stay quiet. People want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.

     The truth--that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything. For the reporter who has secured the exclusive interview, this is the scoop of a lifetime. For the detective who has lived a half-life since he failed to get justice for the victim, it is a chance to get at the truth that has eluded him for so long. For Jean, it's a chance to defend herself, what she knew--and when.

     This is the tale of a missing child, narrated by the wife of the main suspect, the detective leading the hunt, and the journalist covering the case. It's a brilliantly ominous, psychologically acute portrait of a marriage in crisis--perfect for fans of The Silent Wife and The Girl on the Train.

About the Author

Fiona Barton trains and works with journalists all over the world. Previously, she was a senior writer at the Daily Mail, news editor at the Daily Telegraph, and chief reporter at the Mail on Sunday, where she won Reporter of the Year at the British Press Awards. Born in Cambridge, England, she currently lives in southwest France.