Saturday, 26 March 2016

Hot Thai Kitchen: Demystifying Thai Cuisine with Authentic Recipes to Make at Home

Hot Thai Kitchen
Demystifying Thai Cuisine with 
Authentic Recipes to Make at Home
by Pailin Chongchitnant
Publisher: Appetite by Random House
Trade Paperback, 264 pages

The definitive Thai cookbook from a YouTube star!

It is spring and this is definitely the best time to learn Thai cooking.

This gorgeous, colourful book is just the guide to an exciting adventure with true Thai flavours. Hot, sweet, salty, floral, magical.

Pailin takes you by the hand and shows you how easy it is to wake up your tastebuds with fresh, fun flavour.

Contents include:

Part 1: Understanding Thai Cuisine
1. The Culture of Eating
2. Understanding Thai Ingredients
3. Equipment & Tools
4. The Structure of Thai Dishes

Part 2: Recipes
Curries
Soups
Salads
Stir-Fries
Vegetarian & Vegan
Dips & Dipping Sauces
Desserts

Part 3: Basic Recipes

From the Back Flap:

Growing up in Thailand, Pailin Chongchitnant spent her childhood with the kitchen as her playground. From a young age, she would linger by the stove, taking in the sight of snowy white coconut being shredded, the smell of lemongrass-infused soups, and the sound of the pestle pounding against the granite mortar.

   Years later, as a Cordon Bleu–educated chef in San Francisco, Pailin vividly remembered the culinary experiences of her youth. And so, on YouTube, Hot Thai Kitchen was born. Combining her love of teaching with her devotion to Thai food, Pailin immediately connected with thousands of fans who wanted a friend and educator.

   In this much-anticipated cookbook, Pailin brings her signature warmth and impressive technique to Thai food lovers everywhere. She begins by taking readers on a beautifully photographed trip to Thailand to explore the culinary culture and building blocks central to Thai food. With foolproof and easy-to-follow instructions, Pailin breaks down the key ingredients, flavours, equipment, and techniques necessary to master authentic Thai cooking. Then, she shares her must-make recipes for curries, soups, salads, and stir-fries, including entire chapters on vegetarian and vegan dishes, dips and dipping sauces, and sumptuous Thai desserts. With QR codes to video tutorials placed throughout the book, you’ll be able to connect with Pailin online, too. 

   Both a definitive resource and an extraordinary exploration of Thai cuisine, Hot Thai Kitchen will delight and inspire you in your Thai cooking journey.

PAILIN CHONGCHITNANT was born and raised in Thailand. After attending the University of British Columbia, she made her way to Le Cordon Bleu culinary school in San Francisco, and began cooking for both Western and Thai restaurants. She is the creator and host of Hot Thai Kitchen, a popular cooking show on YouTube, which takes an educational approach to Thai cuisine. Visit her at www.hot-thai-kitchen.com

Thursday, 17 March 2016

Far From True: A Thriller by Linwood Barclay

Far From True
A Thriller
by Linwood Barclay

Publisher: Doubleday Canada
Hardcover, 480 pages

Barclay just gets better and better. He has mastered the complex puzzle of mystery writing and keeps so many balls in the air you are guaranteed to be taken by surprise again and again.

I loved the first book in the series and was seriously excited when this one came out. It is part of a trilogy so I have to wait til November for the final installment.

This book stands alone or is even better read in order. Click on the book jacket below to view the first book in the series.

From the Back Flap:

From the Canadian king of suspense comes this edge-of-your-seat thriller with a startling twist, for fans of Harlan Coben, Lisa Gardner and Tami Hoag.

New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Linwood Barclay delivers the second spine-chilling thriller set in the troubled town of Promise Falls.

     After the screen of a run-down drive-in movie theater collapses and kills four people, the daughter of one of the victims asks private investigator Cal Weaver to look into a break-in at her father's house. Cal discovers a hidden room where salacious activities have taken place--as well as evidence of missing DVDs. But it may not be the discs the thief was interested in. . . .

1st book in the series
     Meanwhile, Detective Barry Duckworth is still trying to solve two murders he believes are connected, since each featured a similar distinctive wound. And when yet another murder happens, Cal and Barry are both driven to pursue their investigations, no matter where they lead. But where they lead may be more horrific than either man can imagine.

Linwood Barclay is a New York Times and #1 international bestselling author whose critically acclaimed novels have been optioned for film and TV.

Wednesday, 9 March 2016

200 Best Smoothie Bowl Recipes

200 Best Smoothie Bowl Recipes
By Alison Lewis

Trade Paperback, 240 Pages

I have an angel on one shoulder and a starving demon on the other. I try to keep them both fairly happy.

Eating healthy makes me feel good and makes me feel like I am doing good. Which makes me feel good. But I love sweets too, especially ice cream. I have no off switch for ice cream.

But what if I filled that craving with a smoothie bowl?

I know what you are thinking, I was thinking it too. What the heck is a smoothie bowl? And how does it differentiate from a regular smoothie in a glass?

Smoothie bowls are thicker and heartier, more likely to fill you up and satisfy your hunger. They are also perfect for adding toppings, increasing your health factor and giving you the satisfaction of chewing your smoothie bowl creation. They can also be very visually appealing, increasing the wow factor at the table.

Smoothie bowls come in flavour combinations to suit any palate, young and not so young, and can be adapted for any dietary needs.

They are extremely popular for breakfast, but I like them for dessert. A great addition to the repertoire.

From the Back Flap:

Enjoy an easy and energizing smoothie bowl any time of the day

Smoothie bowls are hugely popular for good reason — they’re a perfect way to add fresh fruits, superfoods and protein to your diet. Adding a smoothie bowl to your morning routine guarantees a great start to your day, and they’re not just for breakfast — they can be enjoyed anytime you need a refreshing, filling and healthy meal or a satisfying dessert.

Whether your smoothie bowl is packed with fruit, leafy greens or nuts, or has a base of coffee or tea, you’ll be sure to find a recipe perfectly suited for you in this collection of 200 refreshing choices. Each recipe features suggested topping options for added color, texture and crunch, taking your meal to a whole new level.

Here’s just a small sample of Alison’s sumptuous smoothie bowl recipes:
• Frosty French Toast
• Kiwi Kale Bowl
• Pumpkin Ginger Bowl
• Antioxidant Smoothie Bowl

These thick, creamy and delicious smoothie bowls will quickly become a welcome addition to your daily routine.


Peanut Butter Cup
If your kids like peanut butter and chocolate, they’ll be huge fans of this recipe!

1⁄4 cup    sweetened vanilla-flavored almond milk     60 mL
  
2 tbsp    unsweetened cocoa powder    30 mL
1    frozen banana, cut into pieces if necessary 1
1⁄2 cup    peanut butter    125 mL
4    ice cubes    4

Suggested Toppings
    Unsweetened cocoa powder
    Sliced banana
    Mini chocolate chips

1.    In blender, combine almond milk, cocoa powder, banana, peanut butter and ice. Secure lid and blend (from low to high if using a variable-speed blender) until smooth.
2.    Pour into a bowl or bowls and top with any of the suggested toppings, as desired.


Courtesy of 200 Best Smoothie Bowl Recipes by Alison Lewis © 2016 www.robertrose.ca Reprinted with publisher permission. Available where books are sold.


Pomegranate Tea Bowl
Pomegranate juice, tea and strawberries all contain antioxidants, so this smoothie bowl is healthy as well as delicious!

Tip
If you can’t find pomegranate-flavored tea, you can substitute any berry-flavored tea.

1⁄4 cup    brewed pomegranate-flavored tea, chilled  60 mL
  
1⁄4 cup    unsweetened pomegranate juice     60 mL
1 tbsp    liquid honey    15 mL
11⁄2 cups frozen strawberries    375 mL
    Ice cubes (optional)

Suggested Toppings
    Sliced strawberries
    Pomegranate seeds
    Goji berries
    Muesli
    Chia seeds

1.    In blender, combine tea, pomegranate juice, honey and strawberries. Secure lid and blend (from low to high if using a variable-speed blender) until smooth. If a thicker consistency is desired, add ice, one cube at a time, and blend until smooth.
2.    Pour into a bowl or bowls and top with any of the suggested toppings, as desired.


Courtesy of 200 Best Smoothie Bowl Recipes by Alison Lewis © 2016 www.robertrose.ca Reprinted with publisher permission. Available where books are sold.


Superfood Smoothie Bowl
With all these fabulous superfoods, this tastes like health in a bowl.

Tip
If you use frozen raspberries, you may not need any ice.

1⁄4 cup    water    60 mL
2 tsp    liquid honey    10 mL
1    frozen banana, cut into pieces     if necessary 1
1 cup    pineapple chunks (fresh or frozen)     250 mL 
   
1 cup    trimmed baby spinach leaves    250 mL
1⁄2 cup    raspberries (fresh or frozen)    125 mL
1⁄2 cup    chopped celery    125 mL
    Ice cubes (optional)

Suggested Toppings
    Sliced banana
    Chopped pineapple
    Raspberries
    Granola
    Ground flax seeds (flaxseed meal)

1.    In blender, combine water, honey, banana, pineapple and spinach. Secure lid and blend (from low to high if using a variable-speed blender) until smooth. Add raspberries and celery; blend until smooth. If a thicker consistency is desired, add ice, one cube at a time, and blend until smooth.
2.    Pour into bowls and top with any of the suggested toppings, as desired.


Courtesy of 200 Best Smoothie Bowl Recipes by Alison Lewis © 2016 www.robertrose.ca Reprinted with publisher permission. Available where books are sold.